NEW YORK INTERNATIONAL FILM AWARDS

FINALISTS & WINNERS - AUGUST 2023

BEST FEATURE FILM	BEST SHORT FILM
Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello (WINNER) Goffredo e l'Italia chiamò Director Angelo Antonucci	Lieve Piet Director Jarne Hagelaars (WINNER) A Breath of Fresh Air Director Destinee Easley Saras Director Jude Peter Damian Under the Currents Director Zhedan Deng Harlem Grace Director Allen Wolf The Roommate Director Fabio Anffe
BEST UNDER 5 MINUTE FILM	BEST INDIE FEATURE
A Day of Peace Director Igor Borghi (WINNER) Visitant of Paris Director Jérémy Strohm	Eulalia Director Igor Moreira (WINNER) Long Years Director Jason Huang
BEST INDIE SHORT	BEST SERIES PILOT
Sleeping Beauty in the New Age Director Ji Yu (WINNER) Who is God? Director Oscar Adan Lopez Parres Visitant of Paris Director Jérémy Strohm	East Director Dana Marisa Schoenfeld (WINNER) Red as Pansies Director Ann Hong
BEST WEB-SERIES	BEST ANIMATION
East Director Dana Marisa Schoenfeld (WINNER)	The Cat Burglar Director Xuewei Sun (WINNER) Cavity Director Jiayi Li Kite Director Toshida Monsters With Garlands Submitter Qi Yuan
BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE	BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT
Taking the Fight Director Carlos Arrieta (WINNER) It's Okay, Buddy Director Filbert Wong In Search of the Tallest: A Redwoods Adventure Director Steve A Hall The Forgotten Artist Director Michael Welsh Sonja Director Sanela Prašović – Gadžo	Kalsa Blo Mi - Writing on the Skin Director Arjun Singh Gyani (WINNER) Beyond Lesser Things Director David Schaupp Endless Ties: Uniting Waste and Humanity Submitter Zharif Manan Preschool to Prison Director Dr. Karen Baptiste Kalsa Blo Mi - Rhythm of Baluan Director Arjun Gyani 13 Driver's Licenses Director Ryoya Terao

BEST STUDENT FILM	BEST SILENT FILM
Stand Waiting In the Light Director Ziyu Wang (WINNER) Under the dome Director Jincheng Liu Sleeping Beauty in the New Age Director Ji Yu Lieve Piet Director Jarne Hagelaars The Wedding Eve Director Xinyao Wu Runaway Director César Oyarzabal Mei Mei Director Daniel Jiaxuan Huang	Visitant of Paris Director Jérémy Strohm (WINNER)
BEST EXPERIMENTAL FILM	BEST MUSIC VIDEO
Red as Pansies Director Ann Hong (WINNER) See Director Kuei Zhu Chen	Defiance Director Dimitri Legrand (WINNER) Bold Director Myrriah Xochitl
BEST TRAILER	BEST FANTASTY FILM
The Matriarch Director Octavia Ethridge (WINNER)	Bunny Guard Director Ho Chung Tang (WINNER)
BEST SCI-FI FILM	BEST HORROR FILM
Shadows Director Richard Sanborn (WINNER)	Malevolence Director Jesaniel Marrero (WINNER)
BEST DRAMA FILM	BEST NOIR FILM
From Life to Life Director Beka Sikharulidze (WINNER) Long Years Director Jason Huang	Someone who is punctual Director Haibo Wang (WINNER)
BEST MUSICAL FILM	BEST NATURE FILM
Spells Before Destiny - from the musical "This is Love"- Director Akisai M (WINNER)	In Search of the Tallest: A Redwoods Adventure Director Steve A Hall (WINNER)
BEST INSPIRATIONAL FILM	BEST SOCIAL JUSTICE FILM
Saras Director Jude Peter Damian (WINNER) Red as Pansies Director Ann Hong	The Sugar Experiment Director John Tornblad (WINNER) Reunited Director Indrani Pal-Chaudhuri The Sound of Violet Director Allen Wolf

BEST SPORT FILM	BEST DIRECTOR
Anton Palzer: Breaking The Cycle Director Lukas Gellert (WINNER)	Eulalia Director Igor Moreira (WINNER - Feature) A Day of Peace Director Igor Borghi (WINNER - Short) Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello Kite Director Toshida Red as Pansies Director Ann Hong
BEST 1ST TIME DIRECTOR	BEST STUDENT DIRECTOR
From Life to Life Director Beka Sikharulidze (WINNER - Feature) Lieve Piet Director Jarne Hagelaars (WINNER - Short) Telescope Director Nicolás Dimópulos Sleeping Beauty in the New Age Director Ji Yu	We Made a Meme Museum Director Jazzy Anne (WINNER - Feature) The Wedding Eve Director Xinyao Wu (WINNER - Short) Sleeping Beauty in the New Age Director Ji Yu Stand Waiting In the Light Director Ziyu Wang Telescope Director Nicolás Dimópulos Sorceress Director Uziyao Tang
BEST ART DIRECTOR	BEST 1ST TIME PRODUCER
Long Years Director Jason Huang (WINNER) (Jazzy Anne, Nastassja Collak) We Made a Meme Museum Director Jazzy Anne	(Iris Sophie Kroes) Lieve Piet Director Jarne Hagelaars (WINNER)
BEST ACTOR	BEST ACTRESS
(Gerard Garilli) Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello (WINNER) (Shane Connellan) Bully Director Shane Connellan	(Nina Frosi) Eulalia Director Igor Moreira (WINNER) (Ann Hong) Red as Pansies Director Ann Hong
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR	BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
(Freddie Maas) Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello (WINNER)	(Alex DiTrolio) Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello (WINNER)
BEST YOUNG ACTOR	BEST VISUAL EFFECTS
(Nicolás Dimópulos) Telescope Director Nicolás Dimópulos (WINNER) (Nicholas Giordano) Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello	Visitant of Paris Director Jérémy Strohm (WINNER) Red as Pansies Director Ann Hong
BEST MAKE-UP	BEST SOUNDTRACK
(Kristy Panariello) Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello (WINNER)	Long Years Director Jason Huang (WINNER) (Nicolas Arrieta) Taking the Fight Director Carlos Arrieta

BEST SONG	BEST SCREENPLAY
(H.Kink - I'm nice like that) Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello (WINNER) (Debra Gussin) You're a halo Submitter Debra Gussin Visitant of Paris Director Jérémy Strohm	(Peter Panagos) Dress Code Director Joseph Pupello (WINNER) (Jude Peter Damian) Saras Director Jude Peter Damian
BEST ORIGINAL STORY	BEST SERIES PILOT SCRIPT
Long Years Director Jason Huang (WINNER) Wa Isjod Wa Iqtareb Directors Suraya AlShehry, Nabila Abuljadayel	Into The Mic Writer Tadiwa Greg Barwa (WINNER) Tell me more Writer Tim Simmons
BEST ACTION SCRIPT	BEST WAR SCRIPT
The last ride of the Blood Brothers Writer Johnny Galvan (WINNER)	The Volunteer Writers Robert Allen Nelson, Jason Morwick (WINNER)
GRAND JURY AWARDS	HONORABLE MENTIONS
Sorceress Director Uziyao Tang (Student Director - Short) Monsters With Garlands Submitter Qi Yuan (Animation) (Debra Gussin) You're a halo Submitter Debra Gussin (Song) Telescope Director Nicolás Dimópulos (1st time Director - Short)	Visitant of Paris Director Jérémy Strohm (Indie Short) Sonja Director Sanela Prašović – Gadžo (Doc Feature) Preschool to Prison Director Dr. Karen Baptiste (Doc Short) Sleeping Beauty in the New Age Director Ji Yu (1st time Director – Short) A Breath of Fresh Air Director Destinee Easley (Short Film) (Jude Peter Damian) Saras Director Jude Peter Damian (Screenplay) The Sound of Violet Director Allen Wolf (Social Justice Film) Kite Director Toshida (Animation) Bold Director Myrriah Xochitl (Music Video)