NEW YORK INTERNATIONAL FILM AWARDS

FINALISTS & WINNERS - OCTOBER 2022

BEST FEATURE FILM	BEST SHORT FILM
Field Post Director Heintje Peter (WINNER)	Manchukuo, 1943, Summer Director Yifan Xiang (WINNER) Tito Directors Anthony Notarile, Andy Tworischuk Brief Director Finnegan Haid Don't Wanna Be You Director Jingyun Huang Uche Directors Kingsley Egei, Nivana Campos Private Director Steve Blackwood A Gentle Push Director Arabella Burfitt-Dons The Unwritten Rule Director Kaye Spann Lullaby of Misfortune Director Philippe Cormier Father's skull Director Lilian Wang
BEST UNDER 5 MINUTE FILM	BEST INDIE SHORT
Thirst Director Yuca (WINNER) Bolie Director Pilar Adara On My Way Director Bonnie Cee The Art of Boba Director Jinsui Song Night Director Eric Krehbiel Knowing the destiny Director Yiwei Shi	Tito Directors Anthony Notarile, Andy Tworischuk (WINNER) The Blood Stone Director Ernesto M. Diaz Generations Director Katherine Morein If They Can't be Loved Director Hattie Lee Un Espectador Director Juan Pablo Palacios Floppies Director John Cappello Obliquity Directors Yiran Wang, Jingfan Zhang By the water Director Elías Rosario
BEST SERIES PILOT	BEST WEB-SERIES
End of the Line Director Mike Pender (WINNER)	This Side of Hell Directors Brendan Dean, Omata Onoda (WINNER)
BEST ANIMATION	BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE
Feeling Special Director Carlos Hoffman (WINNER)	For Tomorrow Director An Tran (WINNER) Americonned Director Sean Claffey Oyster Mom Director Jules Crespo The Filmmakers Director Steve Firkins
BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT	BEST STUDENT FILM
No Body and the Blue Sky Director Magda Gvelesiani (WINNER) Stace Directors Jonathan Daniel Gill, Ethan Toth Sexuality Scarred: The Jezebel Complex Director Temiloluwa Oluwaseun Oshadiya Marjorie Eliot's Parlor Entertainment Harlem Director John Decker	Abandoned Dogs, Abandoned Conscience Director Yuri Lee (WINNER) An American Sunset Director John Varkados Forgiveness Submitter Jimmy Cao Obliquity Directors Yiran Wang, Jingfan Zhang Caged Birds Director Michelle Zhang Knowing the destiny Director Yiwei Shi

BEST EXPERIMENTAL FILM	BEST MUSIC VIDEO
The Butterfly Director Ting Song (WINNER) Nowhere to put Submitter Xin Shi	The Reason Director Jonathan Fine (WINNER) Devil Said Roam Directors Megan Morrison, Tofik Alieqv Supernatural Director Alex Beldi Off to College Director Susan Mey Lee Lim Ghost Director Charles Billot
BEST TRAILER	BEST COMMERCIAL
Staycation Director Russell Emanuel (WINNER)	Wellgard Vitaflora Director Tamas Levardi (WINNER) Recovery Happens Director Nancy Hamilton
BEST COMEDY FILM	BEST SCI-FI FILM
Spice Things Up Director Joe Lankheet (WINNER)	Adam Directors Patrick Farrell, Borneo Sedeu Nishevikj (WINNER)
BEST DRAMA FILM	BEST HISTORICAL FILM
Lullaby of Misfortune Director Philippe Cormier (WINNER) Ellida Director Leon Mitchell Blank Fugitive Director Michael Boston	Searching for Camelot Director Roger Paradiso (WINNER)
BEST ROMANCE FILM	BEST MUSICAL FILM
Like a PowerPoint Directors Pat Bradley, Melanie Gretchen (WINNER)	Off to College Director Susan Mey Lee Lim (WINNER)
BEST PARODY FILM	BEST LGBTQ FILM
America Unanswered Directors Jessi Gotta, Patrick Shearer (WINNER)	Spin Director Lisa Marie Tedesco (WINNER)
BEST SOCIAL JUSTICE FILM	BEST DIRECTOR
For Tomorrow Director An Tran (WINNER) The Untold Isis Brantley Story Director Sharice Lamb	Lullaby of Misfortune Director Philippe Cormier (WINNER) Milas Tagebuch Director Gabriel Da Silva Like a PowerPoint Directors Pat Bradley, Melanie Gretchen

BEST 1ST TIME DIRECTOR	BEST 1ST TIME PRODUCER
Tito Directors Anthony Notarile, Andy Tworischuk (WINNER) Generations Director Katherine Morein Red Hook Director Max Millstein	(Katrina Syran) Ellida Director Leon Mitchell (WINNER)
BEST ACTOR	BEST ACTRESS
(Michael Boston) Blank Fugitive Director Michael Boston (WINNER) (Alexei Bondar) Tito Directors Anthony Notarile, Andy Tworischuk (Paulo Ribeiro) Just Like Everything Else in This Life Director Flávia Orlando (Rex Dane) Shiva Submitter Rex Dane (Haris Samar) Sister Director Emma Balcazar	(Katrina Syran) Ellida Director Leon Mitchell (WINNER) (Pam Renall) Pasta Director Elgin Cahill (Courtney St. Gelais) Spin Director Lisa Marie Tedesco (Marilou Morin) Lullaby of Misfortune Director Philippe Cormier (Melanie Gretchen) Like a PowerPoint Directors Pat Bradley, Melanie Gretchen
BEST SUPPORTING ACTOR	BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
(Karl Farah) Lullaby of Misfortune Director Philippe Cormier (WINNER)	(Shannon K. Dunn) Pasta Director Elgin Cahill (WINNER)
BEST ENSEMBLE	BEST DUO
Tito Directors Anthony Notarile, Andy Tworischuk (WINNER)	(Valentina Torresi, Cornelius Boeder) Fog Around August Direc- tor Ryan Cairns (WINNER)
BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY	BEST MAKE-UP
(Bonnie Cee) On My Way Director Bonnie Cee (WINNER) (Jacky Shun Man Cheung) Neo's Cleaning Service Director McFloyd Nguyen (Yongyu Pan) Out At Sea Director Qingyu Cheng (Amadeus Raúl Ceseña) By the water Director Elías Rosario	(Juliane Larin) Lullaby of Misfortune Director Philippe Cormier (WINNER)
(Louka Hogue) Lullaby of Misfortune Director Philippe Cormier	
BEST SOUNDTRACK	BEST SONG

BEST DANCE CHOREOGRAPHY	BEST SCREENPLAY
(Esosa Oviasu) Shades Director Esosa Oviasu (WINNER)	Milas Tagebuch Director Gabriel Da Silva (WINNER)
BEST ORIGINAL STORY	BEST FEATURE SCRIPT
(Philippe Cormier) Lullaby of Misfortune Director Philippe Cormier (WINNER) (Shannon K. Dunn) Pasta Director Elgin Cahill	Broken Men Writer Julian Paulsen (WINNER) No Address Movie Writers Julia Verdin, James Papa
BEST TELEVISION SCRIPT	BEST SHORT SCRIPT
Lajjawati Writers Sumathy Ram, Charles Leopardo (WINNER)	She Ran Her Own Race Writer Jason Murgatroyd (WINNER) Way Back Home Writer Junze Guo Fitting Descriptions Writer Dave Reidy The Widower Writer Lewis James Rees Harris
BEST COMEDY SCRIPT	BEST DRAMA SCRIPT
Girl Squad Writer Miriam Freund (WINNER)	No Address Movie Writers Julia Verdin, James Papa (WINNER) Trustees & Overseers Writer Miriam Freund
BEST HISTORICAL SCRIPT	BEST INSPIRATIONAL SCRIPT
Lajjawati Writers Sumathy Ram, Charles Leopardo (WINNER)	No Address Movie Writers Julia Verdin, James Papa (WINNER)
BEST 1ST TIME SCREENWRITER	BEST ORIGINAL SCRIPT
Fitting Descriptions Writer Dave Reidy (WINNER)	No Address Movie Writers Julia Verdin, James Papa (WINNER) Lajjawati Writers Sumathy Ram, Charles Leopardo
GRAND JURY AWARDS	HONORABLE MENTIONS
Obliquity Directors Yiran Wang, Jingfan Zhang (Student Film) The Widower Writer Lewis James Rees Harris (Short Script) (Jacky Shun Man Cheung) Neo's Cleaning Service Director McFloyd Nguyen (Cinematography) The Blood Stone Director Ernesto M. Diaz (Indie Short)	Generations Director Katherine Morein (Indie Short) Way Back Home Writer Junze Guo (Short Script) (Amadeus Raúl Ceseña) By the water Director Elías Rosario (Cinematography) (Ron J. Danziger, Christina Teenz Tan, Mathilde Lompret,
(Shannon K. Dunn) Pasta Director Elgin Cahill (Original Story) Knowing the destiny Director Yiwei Shi (Under 5 Min Film)	Matthieu Eymard) Off to College Director Susan Mey Lee Lim (Soundtrack) (Melanie Gretchen) Like a PowerPoint Directors Pat Bradley, Melanie Gretchen (Actress)