NEW YORK INTERNATIONAL FILM AWARDS

FINALISTS & WINNERS - JANUARY 2021

BEST FEATURE FILM	BEST SHORT FILM
Righteous Villains Director Savvas D. Michael (WINNER)	Man of Fire Director Heather Schmidt (WINNER) Junior Director Jehnovah Carisle Looking Through the Trees Director Justin Morfin Night Out Director James Huang End of an Affair Director James Huang Exchange Offer Director Saunak Mitra Body Armor Director Simon Mølvig Enigma Director Abhay Thakur Beyond the Fuchsias Director Tara Jackson Walks Director Al J. Moran
BEST UNDER 5 MINUTE FILM	BEST INDIE FEATURE
News Director Robert Bazzocchi (WINNER)	Young & Reckless Director Timothy Barker Jr (WINNER)
BEST INDIE SHORT	BEST SERIES PILOT
Clann Director Aaron O'Neill (WINNER) Lover Gone Director Alexander Dell'Aquila Fù Director Matthew McCracken Dirty Game Director Smaro Angelakopoulou	Grinding Doubt Director Alexandra Ann Spieth (WINNER)
BEST WEB-SERIES	BEST ANIMATION
Good Monsters Directors Johannes Muhr, Julia Zimth (WINNER)	The Moon 2050™ Director Paul Lapushkin (WINNER) A Grenfell Story Director Hameed Catel Me and Me Director Jason Spizzo
BEST DOCUMENTARY FEATURE	BEST DOCUMENTARY SHORT
African Democracy Director Irvin D. Reid (WINNER) A Perfect Vintage Director Troy Christian When Titans Clash: Pride and Shame Director Pearl Forss Outraged Director Simon Bisset The DS King Director Doret van der Sloot Under threat Director Ewa Stankiewicz	Time Menders Director Dai Shi (WINNER) The Funny Runner Director Rob Steger Spark Submitter Alex Flagg Parklife Director Lillian Xuege Li

BEST STUDENT FILM	BEST EXPERIMENTAL FILM
Burn down Submitter Wang Xinyan (WINNER) Escargot Director Ren Zheng Lata Director Isabella Hicks Genealogy Director Penghao Cui	Transfigurations Director Alberto Martín-Aragón (WINNER)
BEST MUSIC VIDEO	BEST TRAILER
Lover Gone Director Alexander Dell'Aquila (WINNER) Diamonds Director Shaun David Barker Blissfully Ignorant Director Søren Lund Beautiful Lure Director Koutaro Ishida	Rohingya Director Haider Khan (WINNER)
BEST THRILLER	BEST MYSTERY FILM
The First Time Director Giovanni Nodari (WINNER)	Enigma Director Abhay Thakur (WINNER)
BEST DRAMA	BEST WESTERN
Looking Through the Trees Director Justin Morfin (WINNER) 846 Directors Charles Andrews, Andrew Essig, Amy Sterling Avila	Saving Grayson Director Breck Cuddy (WINNER)
BEST MUSICAL	BEST LGBTQ FILM
Sergi & Irina Directors Miquel Verd, Àlex Tejedor (WINNER) The Race Directors Michael Everett, Carolina Stevens	On The Floor Director Corey Koepper (WINNER)
	On The Floor Director Corey Koepper (WINNER) BEST SOCIAL JUSTICE FILM
The Race Directors Michael Everett, Carolina Stevens	
The Race Directors Michael Everett, Carolina Stevens BEST BIOGRAPHICAL FILM	BEST SOCIAL JUSTICE FILM Outraged Director Simon Bisset (WINNER)

BEST 1ST TIME DIRECTOR	BEST PRODUCER
Young & Reckless Director Timothy Barker Jr (WINNER - Feature) Enigma Director Abhay Thakur (WINNER - Short) Dirty Game Director Smaro Angelakopoulou Looking Through the Trees Director Justin Morfin Amalie X Director Nima Kianzad Neo Gender Director Emmanuelle Soffé Genealogy Director Penghao Cui Beyond the Fuchsias Director Tara Jackson The Clone Director Joei So	The DS King Director Doret van der Sloot (WINNER)
BEST 1ST TIME PRODUCER	BEST ACTOR
Looking Through the Trees Director Justin Morfin (WINNER)	(Michael Wetherbee) End of an Affair Director James Huang (WINNER) (Karn Kalra) News Director Robert Bazzocchi
BEST ACTRESS	BEST SUPPORTING ACTRESS
(Beteal Sharon Mahari) Junior Director Jehnovah Carisle (WINNER) (Lauren A. Kennedy) Night Out Director James Huang (Freja Zeuthen) End of an Affair Director James Huang (Jeng Chang) Fù Director Matthew McCracken (Nadine Knobloch) The Circle Director Nadine Knobloch	(Angela Carbone) Night Out Director James Huang (WINNER)
BEST ACTING ENSEMBLE	BEST ACTING DEBUT
Good Monsters Directors Johannes Muhr, Julia Zimth (WINNER) Night Out Director James Huang	(Joey Moe) Body Armor Director Simon Mølvig (WINNER)
BEST VISUAL EFFECTS	BEST CINEMATOGRAPHY
Two Worlds, Not One Director Hemma Kearney (WINNER)	A Perfect Vintage Director Troy Christian (WINNER)
BEST SOUNDTRACK	BEST SONG
Man of Fire Director Heather Schmidt (WINNER) For Eternity Submitter Tim Janssens Escargot Director Ren Zheng Good Monsters Directors Johannes Muhr, Julia Zimth The Race Directors Michael Everett, Carolina Stevens	Losing You To Me Director Jeff Alan Rule (WINNER) Night Out Director James Huang

BEST DANCE CHOREOGRAPHY	BEST EDITING
Slip Director Kurt Csolak (WINNER) Bad Feeling Director Nyko PK16	Night Out Director James Huang (WINNER) Fù Director Matthew McCracken
BEST SCREENPLAY	BEST ORIGINAL STORY
Dearest Death Director Calabrese Rossella (WINNER) Night Out Director James Huang Good Monsters Directors Johannes Muhr, Julia Zimth The Trip Director Drew Maxwell Weiss	Clann Director Aaron O'Neill (WINNER)
GRAND JURY AWARDS	HONORABLE MENTIONS
Dirty Game Director Smaro Angelakopoulou (1st time Director - Short) Night Out Director James Huang (Screenplay) (Freja Zeuthen) End of an Affair Director James Huang (Actress) Fù Director Matthew McCracken (Editing) 846 Directors Charles Andrews, Andrew Essig, Amy S. Avila (Drama) Escargot Director Ren Zheng (Student Film) Good Monsters Directors Johannes Muhr, Julia Zimth (Soundtrack) The Race Directors Michael Everett, Carolina Stevens (Musical) A Grenfell Story Director Hameed Catel (Animation)	The Trip Director Drew Maxwell Weiss (Screenplay) (Lauren A. Kennedy) Night Out Director James Huang (Actress) Fù Director Matthew McCracken (Indie Short) Beyond the Fuchsias Director Tara Jackson (Short Film) Genealogy Director Penghao Cui (1st time Director - Short)